CSIRO Staff Association History

Hobart members strike

The CSIRO Staff Association has been serving staff for nearly seventy years. The CSIR Officers’ Association was formed during the war in 1943, but discussion of the possibility of an Association began as early as 1929. The Staff Association has around 3,000 members, approximately half of all CSIRO staff, across every work area and geographical location in Australia.

“In April, 1943, meetings of officers were held in the Sections of the C.S.I.R. to decide finally whether or not to proceed with theAssociation, and all Divisions and Sections except Animal Health (Melbourne and Sydney) and Radiophysics decided to support the formation of a registered Association … the inaugural meetings to establish the Association formally were held in Sydney, Canberra,Melbourne and Adelaide on 26th and 27th May 1943 … The Branch Committees were elected in june 1943, and the first Council Meeting was held on 23rd and 24th july, 1943.”

CSIRO Staff Association members care about their work and Australian science. With the density of CSIRO staff membership and active workplace delegate representation, there is much that can be achieved by acting collectively.

The Staff Association is affiliated with the Community and Public Sector Union (CPSU) which represents scientists and science staff in government agencies such as the Bureau of Meteorology and ABS. Together, we are a powerful voice for scientists and science staff in Australia.